“Computers are magnificent tools for the realisation of our dreams, but no machine can replace the human spark of spirit, compassion, love, and understanding” – Louis V. Gerstner Jr

The ICT curriculum now called ‘Computing’, has been reformed, It now includes the following three strands:

  • Computer science. This is the scientific and practical study of computation: what can be computed, how to compute it, and how computation may be applied to the solution of problems.
  • Information technology is concerned with how computers work, and how they may be applied to the storage, retrieval, transmission and manipulation of data.
  • Digital literacy is the ability to effectively, responsibly, safely and critically navigate, evaluate and create digital artefacts using a range of digital technologies. The creation of digital artefacts will be integral to much of the learning of computing. Digital artefacts can take many forms, including digital images, computer programs, spreadsheets and 3D animations.

Course content

Year 7
• E-safety, security and ethics
• Understanding computers
• Digital creativity
• Programming
• ICT solutions

Year 8
• Computing in the wider context
• The components of a computer system
• Cracking the code
• Programming in Python
• National school sports week project

Year 9
• HTML and CSS
• Graphics
• Video
• Programming using Logo
• Computational thinking

Skills developed

At Key Stage 3 we aim to ensure that all pupils can:
• understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation
• analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems
• evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems